New Series: WHODUNNIT? The Wolf Among Us

WAUWhodunnit copy

Hi all, long time, no post. Sorry for the absence, I had to take my GRE this past Friday, which was about as fun as it sounds. (Seriously, it was four hours long and manned by TSA agents in training.) But it’s done and my free time is actually free.

To celebrate my freedom, I’m kicking off another series of blog posts revolving around The Wolf Among Us. This game, like all Telltale games, is awesome. I’ve been watching since the beginning, and recently been going through on my own and with my siblings. (My little sister is in charge of the controls for our group play-through, so I have enjoyed yelling “Q! Q! Q!” in a loud, panicked voice. It is cruel? Maybe, but I like to think of it as concentration practice for high-stress situations. She could become a surgeon.)

If you haven’t played through The Wolf Among Us, do it – I haven’t “died” (or failed) once, and I die every five minutes I play Half-Life 2. Even when it’s on Easy. I know. Plus, the game’s got a strong story, fairytale goodness, a crime-noir feel and talking pigs. Talking, snarky pigs.

My one gripe is that most of these characters and their stories technically do not fit the criteria of a ‘fable’ so it’s a misnomer to call them one. Of course, they’re not all fairy tales or folk stories either, so there’s no categorical term we can use that adheres to its usual criteria. Oh well.

All literary-wanking side, this blog series will go through all the primary suspects – as well as some ancillary ones. Is it Bluebeard? Is Crane a nasty old pervert? Is Bufkin secretly a crime lord with a monopoly on alcohol? Two of those things are true. (Or not.)

I want to pull in some source material as well – and by source, I mean the fairy tales/fables/folk stories themselves. I took a course on the construction and history of fairy tales, so this should be fun.

Just a heads up: I have not read the comics. I want to, but I’m waiting until this series is over (which may or may not be when I retire at a ripe old age.) so all of this commentary/wild theorizing is based on the released episodes only. Please don’t spoil me. Please.

Expect profiles to come up soon, though I want to play through the last episode once more before I make my speculations/theories. (I may have left Bluebeard alone in Crane’s room the last time… whoops?)

Okay, it’s time to get my thinking cap on. Talk to you soon!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

